Sansibar Travel Guide – Part II


Today it´s exactly one week ago that we are back from our dream vacation. It’s hard to believe how quickly time flies by. Nevertheless, as promised, I would like to share my Sansibar Travel Guide – Part II with you. Already last week I reported about our planning & booking of the trip, about Zanzibar itself and our hotels. Today you learn everything about our trip to Tanzania, our safari, the hike at Kilimanjaro, the attractions & tours we made and the best restaurants we visited.

T A N S A N I A 

Via AirTanzania we booked two domestic flights from Zanzibar to Kilimanjaro Airport. From there we went directly to Arusha. A small village of no importance, which is the starting point for most safaris.


S A F A R I

Safaris are a must when flying to Africa. An unbelievably great experience that we will probably remember forever. At the beginning we had planned to plan three to four days safari. After a short look at the prices (2.500 – 5.000 p.p. upwards) we were astonished to find that this would exceed our budget. I was aware that safaris are expensive, but they cost more than I expected.

We changed our mind and planned a safari day trip (approx. 9 h) in Tarangire National Park. This was not cheap (174 – 360€ p.P. depending on the season) but absolutely worth its money. We booked our trip without any problems through Get Your Guide (advertising, unpaid) and were picked up directly at our hotel and dropped off again in the evening. Basically, one does not only have to pay for the guide and the car but also high entrance fees for the national parks.

Already after a few minutes, numerous zebras were in front of our car, giraffes that ate some leaves and elephants that walked next to us. Fortunately for us, Flo and I were the only two in our jeep and could enjoy our safari in privately.


K I L I M A N D S C H A R O

Basically, there is a cheap alternative for almost all attractions & tours. But if you want to climb Kilimanjaro up to the summit, you should plan a lot of time and money. We decided against it for time reasons, but we would have liked to do the tour already. Accordingly, I can not give you the information directly from my own experience, but only what I got myself. A tour to the summit usually takes about seven days and costs between 1.200 € – 1.700 € per person. This includes the entrance fees for the National Park, the guide’s fee and the Porter (the people carrying your luggage). The more time you take for the hike, the better. Because the Kilimanjaro with its 5.895 m altitude is definitely not to be underestimated. Especially at high altitudes, when you are not used to this, a so-called altitude sickness can quickly occur.

Nevertheless, even for a smaller budget, a tour to Kilimanjaro is definitely worth seeing. Altogether we took two full days for the Kilimanjaro. We stayed in the small village Moshi and from there we went with the Dala Dala, a public transport in form of a minibus, to the small village Marangu, directly in the valley of the Kilimanjaro. From here all tours around Kilimanjaro start. The nature is particularly impressive. For a smaller budget a smaller hike of about 4 hours to the waterfalls is definitely recommended. In addition, it is offered to visit the national park, but here also an entrance fee of 90$ per person is due. It is definitely recommendable to take a personal guide (about 20$ for us two for the whole day), as the paths are totally hidden and not visible via Google Maps. We were approached in Marangu directly on the road by a guide who accompanied us on our hike. The tour was absolutely recommendable and one of our highlights. Finally, we made a small stop at a coffee plantation where we could produce coffee ourselves and drink it afterwards.

 

A T T R A K T I O N E N  &  T O U R E N

In Zanzibar and Tanzania there is more to experience than just lying on the beach. One attraction is cooler than the other. Because this destination offers not only relaxation but also the right amount of action. Basically I would advise you not to book the tours directly through the hotels, as these are at least three times as expensive as they are otherwise offered. Even though in many travel guides it is not recommended to book any tours on the beach, we have only made good experience with it. And also here you can still get the price down by at least 1/3. I’ll give you a short summary of all the tours we did on the spot and which we liked best.

Safari Blue

Near Jambiani | Price ca. 35 – 50 € per Person

This tour is not for non-swimmers or people suffering from seasickness. Here one goes with a small wooden boat approx. one hour to a small island. It is held for snorkeling and on a sandbank and afterwards grilled on the beach Sea Food. In comparison to the other tours, this was one of the tours that I would most likely delete from the program.

Delfin Tour

Near Jambiani | Price ca. 25 – 40 € per Person

Whoa! One of the greatest experiences of my life. Even though I heard some negative reports about the dolphin tour from some tourists, I can’t confirm them at all. The dolphins were considered in their natural environment and were not disturbed by the people and boats. Our absolute highlight was that you could jump into the water and dive with the dolphins. We were right in the middle of a dolphin swarm and were so close that we could almost have touched them.

Touren mit Guide:

Spice Tour

Near Stone Town | Price ca. 20 – 30 € per Person

On a plantation, one is shown the most different spices and fruits. A super interesting tour, where you can definitely learn something. We had a lot of fun.

Stone Town Tour

Stowe Town | Price ca. 15 – 30 € per Person

I would rather not recommend this tour. We had a nice guide who guided us through the city, but the only thing really worth seeing is the museum of slavery. The rest of the city does not offer much history and this can be better explored on your own without having to pay a guide.

Prison Island Tour

Stone Town | Price ca. 20 – 30 € per Person

The Prison Island Tour starts with a small boat directly from the beach in Stone Town. The special thing about the tour are the giant turtles that live on the island and run around freely. They can also be fed and stroked.
In addition, a small stop on the water is made for snorkeling.

 

Tours without Guide:

Kuza Cave

Near Jambiani | Price ca. 10 $ per Person

Personally, I liked the cave a lot, but Flo liked it less. So this is a matter of taste. You really don’t get much for the entrance fee. There is a big cave with crystal clear water in which you can swim and dive. If one has not visited a cave of this kind yet, it is definitely worth a visit.

Turtle Aquarium

Nungwi | 10 $ – 15 $ per Person

There are two different aquariums here. The Manarani Marine Turtles Conservation Pond and the Baraka Natural Aquarium. The Manarani takes care of sea turtles caught in fishing nets, nurses them back to health and then releases them into the sea again. This project is purely for a good cause and serves to educate the tourists. The Baraka Aquarium is a saltwater lagoon where sea turtles also live. The special thing about this lagoon is that the tourists are also allowed to swim with the turtles. We visited both aquariums and would recommend both.

 


R E S T A U R A N T S

You can eat really well in Zanzibar. Of course you have to have the right addresses where you go. We have invested a lot of time in research and have always been informed about the best restaurants in the area via Google and TripAdvisor (advertising, unpaid). Here are our best restaurant tips:

Taarab

Stone Town | 15 $ – 35 $ per Person

The restaurant is located on the roof terrace of the Double Tree Hilton Hotel in the heart of Stone Town. Super nice view over the city, delicious food and very nice service. We were thrilled and still rave about the great food! An absolute must if you are in Stone Town.

Emerson on Hurumzi

Stone Town | 15 $ – 20 $ per Person

This restaurant puts you right in the middle of an Aladdin movie set. The restaurant is also on a roof terrace and offers a beautiful view over the city and the sea. The food is oriental but super delicious. A little tip: make sure to book in advance!

More than a drop

Moshi, Tansania | 15 $ – 20 $ per Person

A beautiful small restaurant with mainly vegan cuisine. The food was delicious and we even went there two days in a row because we liked it so much. The special highlight is the direct view to the Kilimanjaro.

Sunrise at Bandas

Matemwe | 15 $ – 30 $ per Person

The restaurant is located on the north-east coast of Zanzibar and offers a wonderful romantic atmosphere. Also here we went two days in a row, because the food tasted so incredibly good. On Friday there is a special menu with live music. An absolute recommendation – we are still enthusiastic about the unbelievably good food.

The Rock

Michamwi | 20 $ – 35 $ pro Person

The restaurant offers an incredibly beautiful ambience as it is built on a rock in the middle of the ocean. Depending on the tides, the restaurant can be reached by foot or by boat. The food is a bit more expensive but was of good quality. Not the best food that we had on the island but very tasty. All in all, the restaurant is definitely worth a visit – we liked it very much. Reservation is a must!

More restaurants we visited and enjoyed:

Kisiwa Hotel – Jambiani für 25 $ per Person

Michamvi Sunset bay Hotel – Michamvi für 25 $ per Person

Spice Island Hotel Resort – Jambiani 15 $ – 25 $ per Person

New Teddy’s on the beach – Jambiani 15 $ – 25 $ per Person

Bahari Pizza – Jambiani 15 $ – 25 $ per Person

 

So and that was already my summary of our vacation. I hope I could give you a good impression and provide you with some tips. Even though I have made many, many trips in my life, this trip was something very special for me. If not the most beautiful trip I have ever experienced. For this reason I can only recommend this destination to you!

For more inspiration visit our Shop Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Google+ Follow us on Bloglovin Follow us on Youtube

If you like to leave a comment, please switch to the German version

Sansibar Travel Guide – Part II


Nun ist es auf den Tag genau eine Woche her, dass wir bereits wieder aus unserem Traumurlaub zurück sind. Kaum zu glauben, wie schnell die Zeit verfliegt. Nichtsdestotrotz möchte ich euch noch, wie versprochen, meinen Sansibar Travel Guide – Part II mit euch teilen. Bereits in letzter Woche habe ich über unsere Planung & Buchung der Reise, über Sansibar an sich und unsere Hotels berichtet. Heute erfahrt ihr alles über unsere Reise nach Tansania, unsere Safari, die Wanderung am Kilimandscharo, die Attraktionen & Touren, die wir gemacht und die besten Restaurants, die wir besucht haben.

T A N S A N I A 

Über AirTanzania haben wir uns zwei Inlandsflüge von Sansibar zum Kilimandscharo Airport gebucht. Von dort ging es für uns direkt weiter nach Arusha. Einem kleinen nichts bedeutenden Örtchen, das als Startpunkt für die meisten Safaris gilt.


S A F A R I

Safaris sind ein muss, wenn man nach Afrika fliegt. Eine unfassbar tolle Erfahrung, die uns wohlmöglich für immer in Erinnerung bleiben wird. Zu Beginn hatten wir uns vorgenommen drei bis vier Tage Safari einzuplanen. Nach einem kurzen Blick auf die Preise (2.500 – 5.000 aufwärts p.P.) mussten wir schnell mit Erstaunen feststellen, dass dies leider das Budget sprengen würde. Dass Safaris teuer sind, war mir bewusst, dass sie jedoch derartig viel Geld kosten, ließ auch mich erstaunen. 

Kurzerhand haben wir uns umentschieden und daraus einen Safari Tagestrip (ca. 9 h) im Tarangire National Park geplant. Dieser war durchaus auch nicht günstig (174 – 360€ p.P je nach Saison) jedoch absolut sein Geld wert. Wir haben unseren Trip ganz problemlos über Get Your Guide (Werbung, unbezahlt) gebucht und wurden direkt bei unserem Hotel abgeholt und auch wieder abends abgesetzt. Grundsätzlich ist es so, dass man nicht nur für den Guide und das Auto sondern auch hohe Eintrittsgelder für die Nationalparks bezahlen muss. 

Schon nach wenigen Minuten sprangen zahlreiche Zebras wild vor unserm Auto her, Giraffen, die genüsslich ein paar Blätter verspeisten und Elefanten die neben uns her spazierten. Zu unserem Glück waren Flo und ich nur zu zweit in unserem Jeep und konnten unsere Safari in privater Zweisamkeit genießen. 


K I L I M A N D S C H A R O

Grundsätzlich gibt es für fast alle Attraktionen & Touren eine günstige Alternative. Doch wenn man den Kilimandscharo bis zum Gipfel besteigen möchte, sollte man viel Zeit und Geld einplanen. Wir haben uns aus Zeit Gründen dagegen entschieden, wobei wir die Tour schon sehr gerne gemacht hätten. Dementsprechend, kann ich euch die Informationen nicht direkt aus eigener Erfahrung weitergegeben, sondern nur was ich selbst mitbekommen habe. Eine Tour bis zum Gipfel dauert in der Regel um die sieben Tage und kostet zwischen 1.200 € – 1.700 € pro Person. Hierbei sind die Eintrittsgelder für den Nationalpark, der Lohn für den Guide und die Porter (die Personen, die das Gepäck für dich hochtragen) mit inbegriffen. Je mehr Zeit man sich für die Wanderung nimmt, desto besser. Denn der Kilimandscharo ist mit seinen 5.895 Höhenmetern definitiv nicht zu unterschätzen. Besonders in der Höhe, wenn man dies nicht gewohnt ist, kann es schnell zu einer sogenannten Höhenkrankeit kommen.

Dennoch ist auch für ein kleineres Budget durchaus eine Tour zum Kilimandscharo sehenswert. Insgesamt haben wir uns zwei volle Tage für den Kilimandscharo Zeit genommen. Wir sind in dem kleinen Örtchen Moshi untergekommen und sind von dort aus mit dem Dala Dala, einem öffentlichen Verkehrsmittel in Form eines Minibusses, bis ins kleine Dörfchen Marangu, direkt im Tal des Kilimandscharos gefahren. Von hier starten alle Touren rund um den Kilimandscharo. Besonders beeindruckend ist die Natur. Für ein kleineres Budget ist definitiv eine kleinere Wanderung von ca. 4 Stunden zu den Wasserfällen zu empfehlen. Zusätzlich wird angeboten den Nationalpark zu besuchen, wobei hier jedoch auch ein Eintrittsgeld von 90$ pro Person fällig ist. Es ist definitiv zu empfehlen sich einen persönlichen Guide (ca. 20$ für uns zwei für den ganzen Tag) zu nehmen, da die Wege total versteckt sind und über Google Maps nicht ersichtlich sind. Wir wurden in Marangu direkt auf der Straße von einem Guide angesprochen, der uns auf unserer Wanderung begleitet hat. Die Tour war absolut zu empfehlen und eines unserer Highlights. Zum Abschluss haben wir eine kleinen Stop in einer Kaffee Plantage gemacht, wo wir selbst Kaffee produzieren und anschließend auch trinken konnten.

A T T R A K T I O N E N  &  T O U R E N

In Sansibar und Tansania gibt es durchaus mehr zu erleben, als nur am Strand zu liegen. Eine Attraktion cooler als die andere. Denn dieses Reiseziel bietet nicht nur Entspannung sondern auch das richtige Maß an Action. Grundsätzlich würde ich euch davon abraten die Touren direkt über die Hotels zu buchen, da diese minimum drei mal so teuer sind, wie sie sonst angeboten werden. Auch wenn in vielen Reiseführern davon abgeraten wird irgendwelche Touren am Strand zu buchen, haben wir damit jedoch nur gute Erfahrung gemacht. Und auch hier könnt ihr den Preis immer noch um minimum 1/3 runter handeln. Ich fasse euch noch einmal kurz alle Touren zusammen, die wir vor Ort gemacht haben und welche uns davon am besten gefallen haben.

Safari Blue

Nähe Jambiani | Preis ca. 35 – 50 € pro Person

Diese Tour ist nichts für Nichtschwimmer oder Personen die unter Seekrankheit leiden. Hier fährt man mit einem kleinen Holzboot ca. eine Stunde zu einer kleinen Insel. Es wird zum Schnorcheln und auf einer Sandbank gehalten und anschließend am Strand Sea Food gegrillt. Im Vergleich zu den anderen Touren war dies eine der Touren, die ich am ehesten von dem Programm streichen würde.

Delfin Tour

Nähe Jambiani | Preis ca. 25 – 40 € pro Person

Wow! Eines der tollsten Erfahrungen meines Lebens. Auch wenn ich von ein paar Touristen ein paar negative Berichte über die Delfin Tour gehört habe, kann ich diese absolut nicht bestätigen. Die Delfine wurden in ihrer natürlichen Umgebung berücksichtigt und haben sich von den Menschen und Booten nicht stören lassen. Unser absolutes Highlight, dass man auch ins Wasser springen und mit den den Delfinen tauchen konnte. Wir waren direkt in Mitten eines Delfin Schwarms und waren so nah, dass wir sie fast hätten berühren können.

Touren mit Guide:

Spice Tour

Nähe Stone Town | Preis ca. 20 – 30 € pro Person

Auf einer Plantage, werden einem die unterschiedlichsten Gewürze und Früchte gezeigt. Eine super interessante Tour, bei der man definitiv noch etwas lernen kann. Uns hat es sehr viel Spaß gemacht.

Stone Town Tour

Stowe Town | Preis ca. 15 – 30 € pro Person

Diese Tour würde ich eher nicht weiter empfehlen. Wir hatten einen netten Guide der uns durch die Stadt geführt hat, jedoch das einzig wirklich sehenswerte ist das Museum der Sklaverei. Den Rest der Stadt bietet nicht viel historisches und dies kann man besser auf eigene Faust erkunden ohne noch zusätzlich einen Guide zahlen zu müssen.

Prison Island Tour

Stone Town | Preis ca. 20 – 30 € pro Person

Die Prison Island Tour startet mit einem kleinen Bötchen direkt vom Strand in Stone Town. Das Besondere an der Tour sind die Riesenschildkröten, die auf der Insel leben und frei rumlaufen. Diese darf man auch füttern und streicheln.
Zusätzlich wird ein kleiner halt auf dem Wasser zum Schnorcheln gemacht.

 

Touren ohne Guide:

Kuza Cave

Nähe Jambiani | Preis ca. 10 $ pro Person

Mir persönlich hat die Höhle gut gefallen, Flo hingegen eher weniger. Dies ist also Geschmacksache. Für das Eintrittsgeld bekommt man tatsächlich nicht viel. Zu finden ist eine große Höhle mit kristallklarem Wasser in der man auch schwimmen und tauchen kann. Wenn man eine Höhle der Art noch nicht besichtigt hat, ist es bestimmt einen Besuch wert.

Turtle Aquarium

Nungwi | 10 $ – 15 $ pro Person

Hier gibt es zwei verschiedene Aquarien. Das Manarani Marine Turtles Conservation Pond und das Baraka Natural Aquarium. Das Manarani kümmert sich um sich in Fischernetzen verfangene Meeresschildkröten, pflegt diese wieder gesund und lässt sie anschließend wieder im Meer frei. Dieses Projekt dient also rein zu einem guten Zweck und dient dazu die Touristen aufzuklären. Das Baraka Aquarium ist eine Salzwasser Lagune in der ebenfalls Meeresschildkröten leben. Das besondere an dieser Lagune ist, dass die Touristen auch mit den Schildkröten schwimmen dürfen. Wir haben beide Aquarien besucht und würden beides auch weiterempfehlen.


R E S T A U R A N T S

Essen kann man in Zanzibar durchaus richtig gut. Natürlich muss man die richtigen Adressen haben, wo man hingeht. Wir haben viel Zeit in die Recherche investiert und haben uns immer vor jedem Restaurantbesuch über Google und TripAdvisor (Werbung, unbezahlt)  über die besten Restaurants in der Umgebung informieren lassen. Hier sind unsere besten Restauranttips:

Taarab

Stone Town | 15 $ – 35 $ pro Person

Das Restaurant befindet sich auf der Dachterrasse des Double Tree Hilton Hotel in Mitten von Stone Town. Super schöner Blick über die Stadt, köstliches Essen und sehr netter Service. Wir waren begeistert und schwärmen noch heute von dem tollen Essen! Ein absolutes Muss, wenn man in Stone Town ist.

Emerson on Hurumzi

Stone Town | 15 $ – 20 $ pro Person

Dieses Restaurant versetzt einen direkt in eine Filmkulisse von Aladdin. Das Restaurant ist ebenfalls auf einer Dachterrasse und bietet einen wunderschönen Blick über die Stadt und das Meer. Das Essen ist orientalisch angehaucht aber super köstlich. Kleiner Tipp: Auf jeden Fall vorher reservieren!

More than a drop

Moshi, Tansania | 15 $ – 20 $ pro Person

Ein wunderschönes kleines Restaurant mit hauptsächlich veganer Küche. Das Essen war köstlich und wir sind sogar zwei Tage in Folge hingegangen, weil es uns so gut geschmeckt hat. Das besondere Highlight ist der direkte Blick auf den Kilimandscharo.

Sunrise at Bandas

Matemwe | 15 $ – 30 $ pro Person

Das Restaurant befindet sich an der Nord-Ostküste Sansibars und bietet wunderschöne romantische Stimmung. Auch hier sind wir zwei Tage direkt in Folge hin, da das Essen so unfassbar gut geschmeckt hat. Am Freitag gibt es ein Special Menü mit Life Musik. Ein absolute Empfehlung – Wir sind noch heute begeistert von dem unfassbar gutem Essen.

The Rock

Michamwi | 20 $ – 35 $ pro Person

Das Restaurant bietet ein unfassbar schönes Ambiente, da es auf einem Felsen in Mitten des Ozeans gebaut ist. Je nach den Gezeiten, kann man das Restaurant entweder zu Fuß oder mit einem Boot erreichen. Das Essen ist preislich etwas teurer angesetzt war jedoch qualitativ gut. Nicht das beste Essen, das wir auf der Insel hatten aber durchaus sehr lecker. Alles in einem ist das Restaurant definitiv einen Besuch wert – uns hat es sehr gut gefallen. Reservierung ist ein Muss!

Weitere Restaurants die wir besucht und uns gefallen haben:

Kisiwa Hotel – Jambiani für 25 $ pro Person

Michamvi Sunset bay Hotel – Michamvi für 25 $ pro Person

Spice Island Hotel Resort – Jambiani 15 $ – 25 $ pro Person

New Teddy’s on the beach – Jambiani 15 $ – 25 $ pro Person

Bahari Pizza – Jambiani 15 $ – 25 $ pro Person

 

So und das war auch schon meine Zusammenfassung unseres Urlaubs. Ich hoffe ich konnte euch einen guten Eindruck vermitteln und die ein oder anderen Tipps weitergeben. Auch wenn ich schon viele, viele Reisen in meinem Leben gemacht habe, war diese Reise etwas ganz besonderes für mich. Wenn nicht sogar die schönste Reise, die ich bisher erleben durfte. Aus dem Grund kann ich euch dieses Reiseziel nur ans Herz legen!

For more inspiration visit our Shop Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Google+ Follow us on Bloglovin Follow us on Youtube

Switch to English version

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht.